On and Over the Hills

"Go as far as you can see; when you get there you'll be able to see farther." ~ Thomas Carlyle

I Take Pictures, or Confessions of a First Time Blogger

There are fire ants zooming around on the dry sand of my brain. They have names like ‘Search Engine Optimization’, ‘Keyword’ and ‘Metadata’, but I totally forget the rest of them. I never have been good at names.

I’ve spent the afternoon reading about blogs and blogging. So now you see. I had originally intended to do much more research before I got started, but honestly? Those fire ants just scattered the sand (read brain cells), and once the deeper and sneakier parts became exposed I discovered I was already signed up for my very own blog.

I do want to clarify that it is something that I’ve been thinking about for some time and I’m not completely unfamiliar with the concept. I do read blogs and sometimes even before I know they’re blogs. I actually think I’m on a website and then find out it’s a blog for Pete’s sake. I even have a little blog on my school library website, but it’s for school stuff only, of course.

The blogs I read are mostly to do with one of three subjects. One: school libraries, because that’s what I do for a living. I do love my job but I haven’t been reading much of those lately because I am on my summer holiday (for another couple of weeks) and I am taking full advantage of it. Two: nature and weather, the environment, because that’s my soul food. And three: photography and photo-art, because that’s my passion – and that’s my reason for starting this blog.

"Hope in the Morning" (Click to enlarge)

I take pictures. I take hundreds of pictures and I love to play with them. The above photo was taken from the shore of Island Lake South in northern Alberta where I was on a short holiday in mid July. I’m an early riser and was thrilled to have such a beautiful place to take a morning walk. After a few days of rain it was a sweet experience to see the promise of clear sky in the sunrise and waterlilies bobbing on the gentle ripples of the silent lake.

I post my pictures to Flickr, but I decided I wanted to start a blog because I often have a lot more to say about my experiences with being a fledgling photographer than I want to put in the descriptions of my Flickr posts. So this is to be the place for my ramblings on photography and photo-manipulation and I hope that I will have something to say that others interested in the subject will enjoy. I look forward to getting to know some other bloggers with similar interests.

13 comments on “I Take Pictures, or Confessions of a First Time Blogger

  1. Classic
    August 13, 2010

    Welcome to WordPress! And amazing Flikr pictures; looking forward to reading your future posts 😀

  2. missusk76
    August 13, 2010

    Thank you so much, Classic. I’m still trying to figure it all out!

  3. donqvijote
    August 13, 2010

    Very nice. Have fun with it all!

    • missusk76
      August 13, 2010

      Thanks donqvijote. I hope it will be fun.

  4. Kia & Zeno
    August 13, 2010

    Ciao Cindy, we popped over from your Flickr account. Have fun with this new adventure! 🙂

    • missusk76
      August 13, 2010

      Thanks so much you two. I really appreciate your stopping by.

  5. Tim Surratt
    August 13, 2010

    I’m happy to see this Cindy because I enjoy the way you write. You write so clearly.
    I raise my glass in a toast to this new adventure for you… I’m along for the ride.

  6. Pony girl2
    August 13, 2010

    Bravo Cindy!
    Excellent start and look forward to seeing more.

  7. missusk76
    August 13, 2010

    Tim and Laura, thank you both so much. It’s comforting to know I have friends here on this ship.

  8. Dan Jurak
    August 14, 2010

    It’s a great way to discover yourself, putting your thoughts and feeling to written text.

    Welcome to the world of the blogging, er living? Whatever. Enjoy!

  9. missusk76
    August 14, 2010

    Thanks so much, Dan. I really appreciate your stopping by. I enjoy reading your blog. If you ever have any advice for me, I’d love to hear it.

  10. Michael Mills
    August 15, 2010

    Followed your link on Flickr – your new blog is a very enjoyable read & I’ve added it to my blogger reader so that I can easily keep up with it.

    • missusk76
      August 15, 2010

      Thanks Michael. That’s very encouraging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2010 by in Introduction and tagged , , , , , .

Navigation

