On and Over the Hills

"Go as far as you can see; when you get there you'll be able to see farther." ~ Thomas Carlyle

Selectively Logged by Beavers

Selectively Logged by Beavers, originally uploaded by MissusK (Cindy).

This little bit of forest between a campsite and the Freeman River has been selectively logged by generations of beavers. The undergrowth is lush and green and the light filters through beautifully.

I’ve downloaded the beta version of Photomatix (thanks to Terry for the advice) and this is 8 (!) exposures taken at the scene (in a very slight breeze) and tone mapped and processed in the Compressor (whatever that is). I’m trying to get over my awe at the tonal range and see it objectively, so I would really appreciate everyone’s honest opinion. Is it appealing, first of all, but is it overdone?

I’m off now for a few days, heading to BC where everything is on fire. The air is so thick with smoke this morning it looks like fog and I can smell it coming in the window beside me. I don’t know if it’s from the Alberta or BC fires, but according to the firemaps they’re all quite a ways away. I’ll see you all next week. Have a great weekend.

(Note: I apoligize for copying this description straight from my Flickr page. I do not intend to make a habit of that, that’s not what my blog is for, but my husband’s rushing me…. 🙂 )

7 comments on “Selectively Logged by Beavers

  1. photobyholly
    August 19, 2010

    This almost looks like a painting – beautiful! I am in NO way an expert on HDR, but I don’t think it looks overdone, I think there are some very nice tones here. I can imagine this photo in a frame, hanging up in a lake house somewhere…..

    • missusk76
      August 19, 2010

      Thanks so much, Holly. If you click on it you’ll see the best exposure I got before HDR. It’s really hard for me to see it objectively!

  2. photobyholly
    August 19, 2010

    Ah yes, MUCH nicer after tone mapping! I can’t believe how much of a difference it makes in pictures – even ones you wouldn’t think of!

  3. themichaellamcollection
    August 19, 2010

    Lovely shot, excellent detail from what would otherwise have been a dark image I presume. I tried photomatix before and I didn’t like the finished product too much (that was a while ago) I now use Mediachance Dynamic Photo HDR, works very nicely I find.
    Keep shooting!

    • missusk76
      August 20, 2010

      Thank you for your compliment and the recommendation. I hadn’t heard of the program you use. I’ll check it out.

  4. Kia and Zeno
    August 22, 2010

    We honestly think you obtained a good result here. We like the different distribution of light on the different shades of green.

    • missusk76
      August 25, 2010

      Thanks Kia and Zeno. It’s a bit of a thrill to be able to come close to the way it feels.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 19, 2010 by in Processes and tagged , , , , , , , .
