On and Over the Hills

"Go as far as you can see; when you get there you'll be able to see farther." ~ Thomas Carlyle

A Singular Day

It was still dark when sleepy-eyed and sweater-wrapped, I opened the front door to let my cat out. More effectively than smelling salts, the crisp, bracing air rinsed my sheet-streaked face and sluiced my lungs with a stream of good-mornings.

Invigorated, I became aware of another song overlaying the usual early morning small-town silence. A beautiful birch tree in my front yard is a joy to me in all seasons, greeting me variously with the first new green, bird song and rustling dances with the wind. This morning, this special morning, my birch was singing the rare tune of tinkling crystal. In joyous rapture I stood at the open doorway longer than I should have and returned inside only to warm up and bundle up, and then return to the magical outdoor world.

©Cindy Kilpatrick 2010

All days are unique and all should be honoured and loved for their impermanence alone. Some days, though, some days are so very unique and extraordinary, so filled with sensory impressions that they feel like a gift; a treasure.

© Cindy Kilpatrick 2010

The sun rose beyond the dense, ice filled air, brightening the white of the sky and slowly revealing a glazed world. A brisk and playful breeze moved through bare branches and dried garden flowers, touching twig and stem with wet fingertips and blowing her icy breath to freeze each droplet with a ting. She capered along, gently lifting and swinging ice coated branches, which responded with charmed and charming laughter, more mirthful I’m sure as they teasingly thwarted my attempts to photograph their rare attire.

© Cindy Kilpatrick 2010

Underfoot, once off the treacherous cement walk, the nearly dormant and now encrusted grass gave with a soft crunch. I reluctantly resisted the urge to go barefoot across the lawn on this stiff-brush massager, but, well enough clad, I indulged in a brief lie-down on the exhilaratingly prickly bed.

© Cindy Kilpatrick 2010

Soon, the ice in the fog softened and whitened. Mother Nature traded party dress for working clothes and got on with the tasks of the day. The landscape began to turn to a more familiar wintry scene. The laughter quieted. Touched with her goodbye kiss, I was revitalized and renewed by this one singular day, the day that Nature dressed up and paid a brief, special visit to me.© Cindy Kilpatrick 2010

18 comments on “A Singular Day

  1. Bob Zeller
    October 25, 2010

    Cindy, I don’t know what to say that I haven’t already said before. I have run out of superlatives about your great writing and your beautiful accompanying photographs. Such awesomely, thoughtful stories. Again, fantastic work!

    Bob

    • missusk76
      October 27, 2010

      I’m blushing, Bob! Thank you so much. Your encouragement means a lot to me.

  2. photobyholly
    October 25, 2010

    Very beautiful!! It’s amazing how pretty everything is when it’s freshly coated with ice – too bad it has to be accompanied by the freezing cold air!!

    • missusk76
      October 27, 2010

      It really is beautiful – and the cold? Well, you get used to it. 🙂 Thank you for your compliment.

  3. pixilated2
    October 26, 2010

    Cindy this is lovely. I never knew that freezing fog existed till I left California and moved to a place with seasons. Well actually, there are many things I didn’t know about the weather and living in a place with more than two seasons. Fog being usually wet and heavy drapes itself over all, obscures the view, and dampens all it touches. Only for special occasions does it crystallize and bejewel everything it caresses… You were blessed to capture it.

    • missusk76
      October 27, 2010

      What a beautiful description of fog! It truly did feel like a special occasion. It’s funny about winter – one remembers the cold and forgets the beauty. It’s a wonderful surprise each year.

  4. Shirina
    October 26, 2010

    wow-really I cant think of much more to say other then I so love your writing style-you are not only a gifted photographer but a gifted writer-you paint a portrait in words and it gives you a feeling of longing to be there…. I felt like I was reading a great book and not wanting it to end…

    • missusk76
      October 27, 2010

      Thank you so much, Shirina. I always find myself wishing that everyone could see and feel what I am experiencing during such a time. I suppose that’s a big reason why I am compelled to record with photos and words the wonders I see.

  5. Kia and Zeno
    October 26, 2010

    Wow, Cindy, you are very talented with words as well as with pictures. 🙂 While reading the story it felt like being there! Enjoy your day and thanks for sharing a bit of your life with us. Nighty night!

    • missusk76
      October 27, 2010

      You are so welcome! 🙂 I’m glad you felt like you were here as so many of your images and descriptions make me feel that I have visited parts of the world that I may never see in person; perhaps I can pay that forward a little.

  6. Linda
    October 27, 2010

    Cindy, I relate completely to this poetic hommage. I too have had those experiences. I call these moments “Suspiro” …..which in Spanish means sigh, but to me means soul sigh….so rich and deep that it seems to start in your toes.

    • missusk76
      October 27, 2010

      That is a delightful concept Linda. ‘Suspiro’ – sounds lovely on the tongue. I’ll have to remember that. Thank you!

  7. themichaellamcollection
    October 28, 2010

    This is beautiful, it’s like being introduced to a new world, superb!

  8. julianhoffman
    November 2, 2010

    Terrific post, Cindy! You are so very right how each day should be celebrated for its impermanence alone, but that certain days seem to strike a little deeper in our souls. The delicate crystals you’ve so wonderfully photographed came singing with song, the brittle clarity and icy reflections turning the wonder of the morning back towards us, enabling us to see with your eyes a little clearer. Thanks for the walk into your winter world…it was a little treasure.

    • missusk76
      November 4, 2010

      You are so welcome, Julian! And thank you for the thoughtful comment.

  9. Paul White
    November 8, 2010

    Pure poetry! Your photographs are wonderful too 🙂

    • missusk76
      November 8, 2010

      Thank you very much Paul. Your site looks very interesting – I’ll be taking a closer look soon.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2010 by in The Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
