On and Over the Hills

"Go as far as you can see; when you get there you'll be able to see farther." ~ Thomas Carlyle

Walk With Me (Some Platitudinous Verse)

I jealously guard my lunch breaks. Soon it will be dark when I go to work and dark when I come home. My lunch time walks will be the only time I feel daylight. Sunny or not, I need to get outside. Sometimes I only have fifteen minutes, other days I steal forty-five. If my time is short, I follow the trails; if I have longer I explore the forest.

Nobody knows where I go, or why
I need to go and touch the sky,
And taste the winds and hear the snow,
And smell the birds. No, nobody knows.

My feet stuck in mud, gaze struck above,
I feel I could fly on wings of love.
I reach for the sun, it shows up for me!
I look for a dance in the arms of a tree.

If they’re listening I’ll tell them my path is light,
My trail is air; the breeze ignites
My soul to feel the kiss of sound,
The warm caress of trees around
My shoulders lifting off the load
Of to-do lists; reciting odes
To now, to here, to this one sight,
Of wonder: change or steadfast might.

They’ve got it wrong those who assume
I go to leave:
In Nature’s womb; I go to breathe,

Refresh, renew, revitalize,
I see my life through Nature’s eyes.

19 comments on “Walk With Me (Some Platitudinous Verse)

  1. Bob Zeller
    October 31, 2010

    There you’ve gone and done it again. 🙂 Impressed me with your wonderful poetry and beautiful images. Very beautiful, both.

    Bob

    • missusk76
      October 31, 2010

      Thank you Bob. I appreciate your always taking the time to comment very much.

  2. pixilated2
    October 31, 2010

    Is there any other or better way to see yourself? It is a refreshing of the spirit to get out into nature, and be alone with your thoughts in such beauty.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Changing thoughts~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Cindy, I cannot believe that you are having such cold weather. Somehow my brain can’t fathom snow already. Here we are feeling toasty at 72 degrees. No, I’m not bragging, I’m just in awe of your weather in another place and time…
    Lynda

    • missusk76
      October 31, 2010

      It’s actually quite nice tonight. It’s been in the single digits on the plus side of zero for the past couple of days, so a lot of the snow is gone and the trick-or-treaters are having an easy Halloween.

  3. pixilated2
    October 31, 2010

    P.S. Your photos are exquisite!

    • missusk76
      October 31, 2010

      Thank you! And thanks for popping in. 🙂

  4. Dave Linscheid
    October 31, 2010

    I took the walk with the pictures and poetry. Beautiful.

    • missusk76
      October 31, 2010

      Thanks Dave, for the compliment and for taking the time to read and comment.

  5. Kia and Zeno
    October 31, 2010

    Wow, winter wonderland! 🙂 Delightful images and poetry, Cindy! Thanks for sharing! 🙂
    We already changed the clocks today, winter is on it’s way…

    • missusk76
      October 31, 2010

      We don’t change ours for another week. What a funny, seemingly arbitrary thing ‘time’ is! Thanks for stopping by.

  6. photosbymartina
    October 31, 2010

    This is very inspiring, I just love the poetic words that flow with the scenic photographs. The snow covered branches are beautiful. 😉
    “Refresh, renew, revitalize,
    I see my life through Nature’s eyes.” something I can relate to, I couldn’t have said it better myself! You have a wonderful gift of writing and photography.

    • missusk76
      November 1, 2010

      Thank you Martina – it’s how I feel.

  7. Tim Surratt
    November 1, 2010

    I feel as if I walked with you Cindy. Thanks for that refreshing thought and visual keys to make that happen.
    “In Nature’s womb; I go to breathe” conveys such a feeling with your images of paths leading into overhanging limbs and brush painted with snow.
    So much talent…

    • missusk76
      November 1, 2010

      Thanks for reading so closely, Tim. I often wonder if the words and pictures only mean something to me.

  8. Cait
    November 7, 2010

    I know what you mean, I have to get outside on my lunch break, too, but I don’t have nearly as beautiful a place to walk as you do. Wonderfully creative post, and thank you for visiting my site!

    • missusk76
      November 7, 2010

      Thank you very much Cait. I do consider myself very lucky. The school I work on is at the edge of our small town and the forest is just beyond the fence – albeit ‘well used’ forest, but forest nonetheless. I’m very glad to have found your blog, we share some interests I think – nature, photography & writing for starters.

      • Cait
        November 7, 2010

        I’m grateful that I found your blog, too, Cindy. I look forward to keeping up with your work.

  9. photographyfree4all
    November 10, 2010

    Great post Cindy! Love the shots posted here! What beauty! And your poetry is amazing as it nests with each shot! great job.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2010 by in The Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
