On and Over the Hills

"Go as far as you can see; when you get there you'll be able to see farther." ~ Thomas Carlyle

Little Red Mare

Little Red Mare, originally uploaded by MissusK (Cindy).

Further to my last post. A birthday picture for Friday.

Romping around the paddock in the snow all buffed up in her fluffy winter coat, bossing the geldings about, she convinced me that she still has lots of good years in her. And I’m happy for that.

12 comments on “Little Red Mare

  1. Bob Zeller
    March 7, 2011

    A beautiful picture that you should frame and hang.

    Bob

    • missusk76
      March 10, 2011

      Thanks, Bob. I may just see how it prints. I haven’t had much luck with printing my pictures.

  2. flandrumhill
    March 8, 2011

    Lovely portrait. That long winter fur is quite attractive.

    How did she get the name Friday?

    • missusk76
      March 10, 2011

      We don’t really know. We got her when she was two and named. I looked up her date of birth and it wasn’t a Friday, so who knows? It was an auspicious day of the week for someone. Thanks for coming by.

  3. photosbymartina
    March 9, 2011

    I agree with Bob, this one needs to be displayed. I just love what you did to the background and the colors just fit like a glove. Beautiful!

  4. Heather
    March 10, 2011

    I don’t remember the framing in the flickr version. I really like this image and agree with everyone else that it would make a great piece on your wall.

    • missusk76
      March 12, 2011

      Thank you, Heather. The extra framing was a surprise to me too. It happened somewhere between Flickr and WordPress.

  5. farmhouse stories
    March 10, 2011

    What a gorgeous image of your dear friend.

  6. missusk76
    March 12, 2011

    Thank you so much, Cait.

  7. themichaellamcollection
    March 14, 2011

    Definitely frame this and hang it in a prominent spot!! 🙂

    • missusk76
      March 17, 2011

      I just might print this one. Thank you Michael.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 7, 2011 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .