On and Over the Hills

"Go as far as you can see; when you get there you'll be able to see farther." ~ Thomas Carlyle

Completeness

If you will be soothed by sighs on the breeze and calmed by the songs offered by trees, then I’ll be content as one who believes that your heart is in safe-keeping.

If sometimes you’re startled by grouse that you flush and a smile is provoked by a hare’s dawn home-rush, then I’ll be content as one who believes that your heart is in safe-keeping.

If you can find solace in sun-dappled wood and dew-sprinkled berries can make you feel good, sharing the place where ever I’ve stood, then I’ll be content as one who believes that your heart is in safe-keeping.

If wind-downed pine can offer you rest and you can find comfort upon its rough breast, among all the histories of earth’s endless mysteries I’ll be content as one who believes that your heart is in safe-keeping.

16 comments on “Completeness

  1. photosbymartina
    March 13, 2011

    Beautiful capture and lovely processing. A gorgeous piece of art! The colors and textures work so well together. Your words fit so nicely…love it!!!

  2. Nancy Schober
    March 13, 2011

    beautiful homage to the energy and strength we get from nature

  3. Photo By Holly
    March 14, 2011

    What a beautiful image – perfectly composed, and I love the colors and texture! Goes along nicely with your words!! 🙂

  4. Bob Zeller
    March 14, 2011

    What else can I say. I have run out of superlatives for your work. This piece is simply magnificent. A beautiful work of art, and a beautiful writing.

    Bob

  5. missusk76
    March 14, 2011

    Thank you all very much. The image is a composite, the child, my granddaughter. More than anything, I want my grandchildren to grow up with the ability to rejuvenate their souls in nature. I will do all that I can to see that happen.

  6. pixilated2
    March 16, 2011

    Your work is becoming so personal and very fine. I am in awe. This is just beautiful and I would like to share the link with my friends. May I?
    Lynda

    PS: Looking at the work was made all the more special when your grand daughter suddenly came out of hiding. What a treat!

    • missusk76
      March 17, 2011

      I’m honoured that you want to share this Lynda. Thank you.

  7. flandrumhill
    March 16, 2011

    Cindy, the image and words are all so very, very lovely. My heart is in safe keeping and I trust that yours is too 🙂

    • missusk76
      March 17, 2011

      When there’s a place you can go to feel how insignificant your troubles are, your heart is safe. So yes, mine is thank you Amy-Lynn, and I’m glad yours is too.

  8. lynnwiles
    March 18, 2011

    Beautiful composite and wonderful prose. Your wish for your grandchildren is so important.

  9. themichaellamcollection
    March 25, 2011

    That is beautiful art, hands down, one of the best I’ve seen recently!!!! I could stare at it for hours I believe.

  10. missusk76
    March 26, 2011

    Lynn and Michael, thank you both so very much.

  11. farmhouse stories
    March 26, 2011

    Such perfect words to go along with your beautiful artwork, Cindy. I see something new in it every time I look.

    • missusk76
      March 28, 2011

      Thank you, Cait. That was just what I was hoping for.

  12. Heather
    March 28, 2011

    This is stunning, Cindy. It actually took me a second to find the face. The composition is truly amazing and reminds me of something from a very high quality children’s book (perhaps you should publish one?).
    Although I don’t have children of my own, I share the desire to help people find wisdom and rejuvenation through nature. Really well done.

    • missusk76
      March 30, 2011

      Thank you, Heather. The idea of illustrating a children’s book has popped in and out of my head all my life. Like many of those annoying brain waves though, nothing has ever come of it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 13, 2011 by in The Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , .
