On and Over the Hills

"Go as far as you can see; when you get there you'll be able to see farther." ~ Thomas Carlyle

Please help me make a decision by Sunday

The always encouraging Bob Zeller has convinced me to enter my first photography contest but I’m finding it incredibly difficult to choose which image(s) to enter. I found some guidelines to follow, but there is something wrong with every picture I think I might use so I’m hoping I can enlist some help from my blogging friends (and strangers too!). Please let me know which of these you think might be good enough for this challenge. I only have 2 days left to decide. You can click on any of them to open a larger gallery.

46 comments on “Please help me make a decision by Sunday

  1. The Daily Dabbler
    April 16, 2011

    Wow! It’s so hard to choose just one! I can only narrow it down to one of the first four photographs. I hope that helps a little.

    • missusk76
      April 16, 2011

      Thank you very much for looking and sharing your opinion. It does help.

  2. photographyfree4all
    April 16, 2011

    Oh, I love these “Which Is Best” blog posts! 🙂 Well, great job on all of these, Cindy! This is a tough choice, but I’ve narrowed my preferences down to two. #3 Don’t Go Yet and #4 Guarded Memories, with the winner for me being, Don’t Go Yet, #3. Good luck, and good for Bob for encouraging all of us!! Let us know what happens.

    • missusk76
      April 16, 2011

      Bob really does have such a gentle way of talking one into things. Thank you so much for taking a good look and choosing favourites for me. I really appreciate your experienced opinion.

  3. FishFearMe
    April 16, 2011

    As a fisherman, I am all about the water. I choose #3 “Don’t Go Yet”. It has such a Spiritual look and feel to it.

    Toby

    • missusk76
      April 16, 2011

      Thank you so much, Toby. It seems everyone is in agreement about #3 so far.

  4. julianhoffman
    April 16, 2011

    Okay, here goes! I’ll be honest right up front and say that I’m rarely, if ever, drawn to sunrises and sunsets, but in your hands they’re strong images. But they don’t, in my opinion, hold a candle to Guarded Memories. This is a wonderfully evocative image and, just as importantly, it conveys a story, a hidden and secluded tale, as well. It both invites and excludes the viewer, pulling in and pushing away. I find myself returning again and again to it in an attempt to plumb its depths. Both beautiful and thought-provoking.

    For slightly different reasons I’m also very fond of Home on the Horizon and Silent Power. They both carry a subtle edge, a quality of light that is mysterious and ultimately empty, forcing us to bring our own imaginations to those vast territories of sky and mist. They bring to mind our somewhat confused relationship to the natural world, the tarmac beneath the towering sky, the electricity poles standing sentinel in a meadow. But your observer’s eye has lent them an equal beauty.

    And finally, for sheer crystalline beauty and the humour of the title I love Dressed Up!

    Good luck, Cindy. Though I don’t actually believe you need it!

    Best wishes,
    Julian

    • missusk76
      April 16, 2011

      Thank you so much, Julian, for your detailed and eloquent compliments. Reading your words, I am amazed that it’s my images you are writing about. Story is what I aim for and if I can’t title an image, I wonder if it has anything to say at all.

  5. Bob Zeller
    April 16, 2011

    Cindy, they all are so great. But if I had to pick just two I would go for Guarded Memories and Don’t Go Yet. I think any of them would get to be at leas a finalist.

    • missusk76
      April 16, 2011

      Thanks, Bob. I’m glad you stuck with Guarded Memories. I’m emotionally attached to that one and you are in agreement with many who’ve already commented on Don’t Go Yet.

  6. Bob Zeller
    April 16, 2011

    One more thing, you said that you had found something “wrong with all of them:. I don’t see anything wrong with any of them. I guess that you are a lot like me, in that you are your own worse critic. My says that I am that.

    • missusk76
      April 16, 2011

      I’m the only critic I have, so I have to be the worst, right? 🙂 Thank you for encouraging me to do this. It’s turning out to be quite an exercise and I know I’ll learn a lot from it regardless of the outcome.

  7. Rose
    April 16, 2011

    Oh my dear, that’s hard!! 🙂 I love every one one them, but mostly these: 1, 8, 11, 13. Hope it helps!! Hugs and best of luck!

  8. pixilated2
    April 16, 2011

    Cindy, I find no flaws, yet I prefer 1, 4 and 6. I was surprised not to see your little blue snow cave picture in the bunch, but then I don’t know what the rules for the contest were. I am excited for you and wish you the best of luck! ~ Lynda

    • pixilated2
      April 16, 2011

      Oh, but really my favorite is Guarded Memories. I liked it very much from the first time I saw it… such a story! ~ L

    • missusk76
      April 17, 2011

      I didn’t even consider it – I don’t really know why. I’m tickled that you remember it, though. The contest has no categories or rules beyond the image size and type. It’s so open-ended it makes it even harder to choose.

  9. photosbymartina
    April 16, 2011

    Cindy, these are all winners. My first reaction to my favorite was Guarded Memories. I love it’s uniqueness, an uncommon gem of a photo that stands out in the crowd. Best wishes for the contest.

  10. Photo By Holly
    April 16, 2011

    They’re all beautiful, but I think I’m drawn to #3, “Don’t Go Yet”! Good luck!! 🙂

  11. lynnwiles
    April 16, 2011

    My favorites are 9 and 13, but I do tend to go for the detailed shot. It’s always so hard to tell what judges will want, some only want people, some journalistic, others landscape or others abstract. All of your choices are good, so sleep on it and every one’s comments.

  12. Kathleen Newell
    April 16, 2011

    They are all striking. Your titles for each are also intriguing and entice me to discover the meaning behind the words. My favorite is, “To Long Life.” I feel like I could step into it and become part of the dream it exudes. I have to add, I’m a sucker for gnarly fences and dead plants. My second favorite is “Autumn Writes the Memoirs.” It’s bold and soft all at once. The golden sunlight compels me to look beyond the trees and discover more—like that ridgeline I see peeking through. Third choice is, “Pinned In the Air, “ simply because it makes me wonder: Is that a bed sheet, a handkerchief, or lingerie. Well, whatever it is, it’s pretty. Good Luck with the competition.

  13. Heather
    April 16, 2011

    Wow! Tough choices, Cindy! I love them all, but if I were forced to make a choice, my top 3 would be: Pinned in the Air, To Long Life and Don’t go Yet. Without any categories, it’s hard to whittle it down, so I picked the 3 that struck me the hardest. Good luck.

  14. Ponygirl2
    April 16, 2011

    Oh cindy, I can see why you are having trouble…I can’t just pick one..My 3 favorites are:

    #2 Sunrise Christmas Eve
    #8 Silent Power
    #9 Pinned in the Air

  15. tms
    April 17, 2011

    Cindy, this is a tough one. Not only because you present an already great selection but also because I am aware that my favourites would not necessarily be a jury’s pick. That said, here’s my two cents:

    I like “Silent Power” because it seems to tell great story of nature and civilization, and I am intrigued by the light bouncing off the cables.

    “Pinned in the Air” appears so simple, conveys quite a gentle, mild atmosphere (I hope I found the right words here) and also seems to have a narrative element.

    “You can dress her up…but you can’t take her out” – the title made me laugh and the picture appeals to me for its striking colors, its ‘coolness’ and simplicity.

    Which one to choose? I would not know. But I hope the ‘concert of comments’ will help you pick the right one(s) with confidence.

    Good luck!

    Tobias

  16. dschondog
    April 17, 2011

    I like #4 and #9. Nine is so unusual I think it would make a good entry. I had a friend win a contest with a picture similar to #4.

    Stimulating pictures!
    Dawn

  17. missusk76
    April 17, 2011

    Thanks so much everyone! Seeing the variety of opinion is so fascinating. It’s a little microcosm of human diversity. Everyone’s individual ‘taste’ comes from his or her own unique life experience and I think it is wonderful.

    You have helped me to decide however. #4 Guarded Memories was a clear favourite, while #3 Don’t Go Yet and #9 Pinned in the air tied for 2nd place, and #8 Silent Power and #11 To Long Live were even for third.

    I’ll be ‘biting the bullet’ later on today and entering my first contest. A wonderful Flickr friend, an artist I admire made me realize that contest judges are human too and in the end it is just “opinion with no reference of my thoughts or methods”. So I am prepared for anything. I am excited nonetheless, to see the results because not only have I never entered a contest, I have never perused images that I am aware actually won them.

    Therefore, it’s a lark and it is really fun doing it with the participation of this incredible global community that I’ve so recently become a part of. Thank you all so very much.

  18. dschondog
    April 17, 2011

    This is really neat to see how my opinion stacked up. My two were in the top two! Yeah, Me!

    Seriously, I pray you’ll reap a lot of rewards from this endeavor!

    I’m rooting for you,
    Dawn

    • missusk76
      April 17, 2011

      LOL! Yay you, Dawn 🙂 Thanks for your well-wishes.

  19. Jim Rook
    April 17, 2011

    I apologize if I’m late in voicing a vote here, but I’d pick #4 Guarded Memories as my first choice. Lighting, composition and sharpness are all well done. I wouldn’t hesitate to pick #2 Sunrise Christmas Eve or #13 Dressed Up either. Both again are well composed. The colors and lighting again are superb in #2. I really like the sharpness of the frost and the faded background. Nicely done.

    • missusk76
      April 17, 2011

      Thank you, Jim. It’s nice to read the specific qualities that work in an image. I appreciate it very much.

  20. Pat Boomer
    April 17, 2011

    Hi Cindy
    I really like them all, but I am partial to “Sunrise Christmas” and “Unheard”
    The peach/pastels are dreamy and I have a weakness for frosted scenery.

    Cheers
    PB

    • missusk76
      April 18, 2011

      Thanks Pat. The hoar frost really does create the most magical of conditions, probably in part because the air is so still and the pure white silence really gets inside. I appreciate your stopping by and sharing your opinion. I always learn so much from your blog. I would love to understand weather better since life really does often revolve around it.

  21. Kia and Zeno
    April 18, 2011

    Hi Cindy, sorry we are so late. Did you decide yet?
    It sure is a taught decision, because honestly your photos are all quite charming! 🙂
    We really like “Don’t Go Yet” and “Guarded Memories”, they are just dreamy. “Dressed Up” is also gorgeous, for us that is the perfect focus! 🙂
    Best of luck! Greetings from Scotland.

    • missusk76
      April 18, 2011

      Thanks Kia and Zeno (Kia?). Your encouragement means a lot. Your first two choices were the most popular on the list, and two of the 5 (!) I submitted, but I finally took a look at last years winners and there is nothing close to the genre of my images. It doesn’t really matter though, I’ll probably forget that I entered by the time August rolls around. 🙂

  22. rogerio (cariocando)
    April 18, 2011

    # 11 is GreaT indeed !!!

    • missusk76
      April 18, 2011

      Good to hear from you Rogerio. Thanks for weighing in with your choice. I appreciate it.

  23. Shelly
    April 25, 2011

    Good luck Cindy – your images are all amazing.

    • missusk76
      April 28, 2011

      Thank you, Shelly. It would be fun, but I’m not holding my breath!

  24. Sybil
    April 26, 2011

    Oh wow — they are lovely. I’m no pro so it’s just by what touches me so my fav is “Quiet power” … I think that’s what it was called.

    I love the Christmas one.

    Oh heck I love them all.

    Sybil

    • missusk76
      April 28, 2011

      I’m really enjoying everyone’s differing opinions. Thanks so much for your vote of confidence, Sybil.

  25. flandrumhill
    April 28, 2011

    Sorry I’m past the deadline. Not that I would have been any help. They’re all so beautiful. Each one is striking.

    • missusk76
      May 1, 2011

      No worries, Amy-Lynn. I appreciate your stopping by with such a nice compliment.

  26. james winters
    June 20, 2011

    I liked number 8. It’s the power-line one. It seemed “layered” as Sam Abell likes to say. I read his teachings. Its mood seemed really nice.

    • missusk76
      July 6, 2011

      I’m somewhat late, but no less grateful for your stopping by to comment, James. Mood is my goal with all my images so I’m pleased that you felt something with this one. That is how I felt looking at your images – you relay the emotions so well.

  27. Deb W
    July 5, 2011

    ‘Way too late, but that doesn’t matter… Loving your lonely home w barbed wire, gauzy clothesline, winter bittersweet and hoarfrosted barbedwire the most. My God it looks so cold in these shots! Sure wish we could borrow some of that for right now, eh? Thanks for sharing your view of things (and hope you had a great Canada Day!)

    And I didn’t cheat by reading the others’ responses first either; )

    • missusk76
      July 6, 2011

      Your opinion is appreciated regardless of the date posted. You are in line with many of the above opinions and you are so right about the cold. It’s lovely and warm here today, so I’m in no hurry to revisit my winter picture right now. Thanks so much for weighing in here. I appreciate it.

  28. missusk76
    August 21, 2011

    Update ~ I received a letter in July telling me that the majority favourite here (Guarded Memories) was chosen as an entry in the Finalist group and will be published in a hardcover book of which I can reserve a copy for Only $55US! Wow! Live and learn. I guess everybody needs to make money somehow. Needless to say I won’t be sending a cheque.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2011 by in The Journey and tagged , , , , , , .
