On and Over the Hills

"Go as far as you can see; when you get there you'll be able to see farther." ~ Thomas Carlyle

A Year on the Boreal Landscape: The Book. Finally.

I haven’t been around much, I know. In fact I haven’t been seriously photographing much; haven’t even been out walking much compared to usual. I’m all wrapped up in my other (work, family) life, flicking my shoulder to knock off the devil who’s telling me I want all that to go away. I don’t. But I do wish I could find a happy medium..i.e. do it all!

Anyway, I’m just back from spring break during which I’ve been ticking a few things off my list (flicking my shoulder to knock off the devil who was constantly nagging me to get in to the library while it was quiet to catch up on some book cataloging). The thing I’m most just relieved about at the moment, because I’ve been picking away at it since January, is the completion of a photo book.

I couldn't get the widget to work, so this is a screen shot that you can click on to go to the book's preview on Blurb

I haven’t really printed any of my work for years and I wanted to see what it would look like. I’m also hoping to make my hobby pay just a little bit for itself by placing a few copies at the local tourist booth this summer. A friend (ex-Mayor!) has also suggested that the town council might buy a few for gifts to visitors. They apparently like to give local work where ever possible. I’ve bit the bullet and ordered a few to peddle.

I downloaded Blurb’s bookmaking tools, used my year end post, added a few more photos, and Voila! (If only it were quite that simple, but it will be easier next time.

Wish me luck!
26 comments on “A Year on the Boreal Landscape: The Book. Finally.

  1. Bob Zeller
    April 3, 2012

    A beautiful book, Cindy. Blurb is an outstanding self-publishing company, probably the best on-line. I have published a couple in the past. I am thinking of doing another. Good luch with yours. ūüôā

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      April 4, 2012

      Thanks so much, Bob. I really appreciate your stopping by with your good wishes, especially since I have been so neglectful lately. After Easter I expect things to slow down…

  2. tms
    April 3, 2012

    Very neat layot and an appealing journey through the seasons – I like it! How do the colors look once printed? I am asking because I’d always be afraid the color management (or, in my case, the tinting) does not work.

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      April 4, 2012

      That was one of my concerns too, Tobias, and some of the images printed very differently from what I expected. I only gave up on one from the first proof – the blues were just totally wrong.but I haven’t properly calibrated my monitor. I need to get the software to do that. Others were quite a bit darker than I expected; I really need to learn to watch the histogram better. On the whole though, I was quite happy with how they turned out. I think Blurb did an excellent job.

      • tms
        April 4, 2012

        I’ll possibly give them a try (if they operate in Europe) – thanks for helping me out with your answer, Cindy! And the best of luck with the book!

  3. Red
    April 3, 2012

    Congratulations on your book. It takes a lot of work but gives great satisfaction.

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      April 4, 2012

      Thank you, Red. It does feel pretty good to see some of my work “in print”, even if I did publish it myself.

  4. Jim Rook
    April 3, 2012

    A lot of Cindy in this book. Enjoyed not only the layout but some pictures from your blog mixed in with new eye candy. As always, your descriptions and story line take us along from print to print. Great job!

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      April 4, 2012

      Thank you, Jim. It was a challenge to choose three pictures that went together from each month. I only cheated once, putting one winter picture into a different month than when it was taken. I’m so glad you read it as well as most people that I’ve shown the book to just look at the pictures. It’s good to have your feedback on the text as well, so thanks for that.

  5. Martina's Design Studios
    April 4, 2012

    Great idea Cindy, what a Wonderful book. I have to read it when I am not presssd for time to school. I wanted to comment and tell you how much I like the the month classification and the layout. Layout is always is an appealing factor from my view.

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      April 6, 2012

      Thanks so much, Martina. I have to confess that the layout is a template from Blurb. I liked it too, obviously. It is not hard to change the layouts, though. I did a couple of family albums with custom layouts and it was easy and fun.

  6. pixilated2
    April 5, 2012

    Congratulations, it is so lovely! ~ Lynda

  7. Sybil
    April 6, 2012

    What a stunning book Cindy ! That front cover is captivating. You should send copies to the Alberta travel bureau and to the premier’s office.

    Congratulations !

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      April 7, 2012

      I’m having a hard time getting the nerve up to take them to the town office, I don’t know if I have the hutzpa to do as you suggest, but I appreciate the vote of confidence very much.

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody
        April 14, 2012

        What a great suggestion! I’ve not had the chance to look on the desktop; but, if you don’t have the nerve, just from knowing your blog text and photos and from what I’ve seen here so far; consider this another vote (with nerve attached; ) to carry you in that direction. : ) D.

  8. Heather
    April 26, 2012

    I know I congratulated you on facebook, Cindy, but I wanted to say it again here. It’s a gorgeous book. I’m sure it will be a hit with tourists. I think the town office idea is a great one. I know your friend is no longer there, but maybe they could help pave the way. BTW, I’ll be in Edmonton between May 20th & 23. I might be able to drive up to see you, but I’m not sure yet. Would you want me to?

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      April 30, 2012

      I would love you too come up. I’ll email. Thanks for the vote of confidence. Friends and family are purchasing a few and the town bought a trial batch of 5 for the tourist booth – I’m happy!

  9. Cindy Kilpatrick
    April 30, 2012

    @Deb – can’t nest my reply in the thread, but wanted to make sure I thanked you – especially for the attached nerve. It must have worked as I managed to make and attend an appointment with the town manager last week. He bought 5 for the tourist booth and even a hardcover for himself! I had 10 softcover printed, but it seems that despite the costliness, most people want hardcover.

    • Deb Weyrich-Cody
      August 12, 2012

      Hey Cindy, You’re quite welcome (and any time on the extra nerve thing; ) SO glad it worked out for you and hoping that every copy has sold ten-fold by now! Sorry, just found this (we’re both all over the map on this one, aren’t we?; ) and, after reading more of your backstory, I’m even more impressed than I was before. Happy, happy days my blogging friend; you truly deserve it! Hugs, Deb.

  10. Kia and Zeno
    May 10, 2012

    Congratulations on your book, Cindy! Isn’t Blurb just great? ūüėÄ

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      July 25, 2012

      Please accept a belated thank you for your congratulations. Blurb is pretty cool, all right. I hope to make another book soon. Choosing the images is the most difficult thing – I need a button I can push that insists, “Yes, it is Good Enough”. ūüôā

  11. shoreacres
    July 20, 2012

    What a lovely book! I came here from pixilated2’s blog, and am so glad I did. Your photography is beautiful, and even though I’m a writer rather than a photographer, I’m going to take a look at Blurb. i’ve been thinking about a book of essays, but haven’t explored any options. I did take a look at Lulu, but it seemed absolutely daunting.

    I’m so glad to have found you – beautiful work!

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      July 25, 2012

      I can’t comment on Lulu since I’ve never looked at it, but I can recommend Blurb. It’s not difficult to use and gives a lot of options for presenting and pricing the books. I’m very glad you stopped by, allowing me to discover your work, and want to encourage you to make your book, your writing is truly delightful. Thank you for the compliments and for taking the time to comment.

  12. Fototype
    October 14, 2012

    Your book is so beautiful! Best of luck with it, and most of all, thank you for the inspiration!

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      October 14, 2012

      Thank you…and you are very welcome! Thank you for visiting my blog, it’s always great to meet another photographer.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2012 by in Processes and tagged , , , , , , , , .
