On and Over the Hills

"Go as far as you can see; when you get there you'll be able to see farther." ~ Thomas Carlyle

Oops! I Must Have Had My Head in the Clouds

If you received an email for the previous post “How to Begin to Become a Great Photographer – My Way” and found it was password protected, I apologize. It isn’t any more. I have learned a lot the last few days and one of those lessons was about how WordPress works.

If anyone knows how to send a draft post to someone without all subscribers getting an email, please let me know.

Addendum:

It turns out that had I asked Julian, the friend who was helping me with the post, he would have told me that all I had to do to share a draft without sending out an email was to use the little “Request Feedback” button under the post. You can read the ‘how-to’  at this link. I have learned a lot in the past few days.

6 comments on “Oops! I Must Have Had My Head in the Clouds

  1. shoreacres
    August 7, 2012

    Oh, I’m so glad I just happened to come across this in my reader, which I rarely use. When I discovered the password-protected post, I unfollowed you. Now, I’m following again! I’ll catch up soon.

    As for sending a draft post, I’ve not found any way to do it without copy and paste into a different program. I’ve done it a few times by turning it into a Word document, which will accept photos and text alike.

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      August 7, 2012

      It turns out that I could have used the “Request Feedback” button just under the post. I don’t know why I had completely disregarded it! I’ll add the WordPress help page to this post in case we’re not the only ones that didn’t know about it.

      I’m so glad you came back. I’m a little embarrassed about the whole thing.

  2. Long Life Cats and Dogs
    August 9, 2012

    I’ve noticed the “request feedback” button but, as I am the the only one of my friends who blogs, I’ve never really had anyone to request feedback from. At least I’ll know about it for possible future use.

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      August 9, 2012

      Julian is a friend that I met through blogging, He is an author that I admire very much who has added audio to many of his posts, I needed help with the feature (and to let him know that I was stealing his idea 🙂 ), so I shared the post with him before I published it, or at least that was the intention. I’ll know how to do it properly next time. I’m sure you will meet many kind and generous people through blogging as well.

  3. Jim Rook
    August 13, 2012

    Cindy, It is amazing how some of the simplest things like this can slip by us. Me, had not even thought about sharing a draft but upon reading your post it makes perfect sense. Just remember that having your head in the clouds isn’t all bad. Every once in awhile there is a break and in those few moments of enlightenment more things become clear to us.

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      August 25, 2012

      So true, Jim. There can be productivity in idleness. As for sharing the draft, if is a gift to be able to get advice from someone you admire. I envy writers that are commercially published not so much for their success, but for their personal editor. Imagine how much you would learn if someone went over your work with a fine toothed comb. The same thing applies to visual art, however as tried to express in the previous post – it is in figuring out where you disagree with the critics that you find your own path.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2012 by in The Journey and tagged , , .
