On and Over the Hills

"Go as far as you can see; when you get there you'll be able to see farther." ~ Thomas Carlyle

Looking For My Song

Looking For My Song

Winter and summer have passed and still I have not written. I have not created. Bits and pieces of lyrics, a scant few notes of tune fly in and out of my conscious thoughts and are swept away as quickly by practicalities. Some call it ‘head space’ – that deep introversion that allows the lyrics to begin to flow and the notes to meld; I call it ‘quiet’. I yearn for it and yet I manage without it and am grateful for the full life that keeps it at bay.

5 comments on “Looking For My Song

  1. shoreacres
    September 29, 2013

    Of course you know that it’s not always necessary to go looking for a song. Sometimes our song comes to us, like a bird on the wing, seeking rest.

    • Cindy Kilpatrick
      September 29, 2013

      Much like these pine siskins but by the time I have my camera out (or my ear turned to listen) they flit away.

  2. Lynda
    September 30, 2013

    I miss you but I will wait, because as they say, “Good things are worth waiting for.” Take care, Cindy, we will be here when you are ready to begin again.

  3. farmhouse stories
    March 10, 2014

    Hi Cindy, it looks like you have been away for awhile (and so have I). I just wanted to check-in, see what you’ve been up to. Your site looks beautiful, I love the art you’re making from your photos and hope things are well with you.

  4. Lynda
    February 29, 2016

    Hello Cindy, it’s me again. Just wanted to say how much I miss you here. ~ L

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2013 by in Quandaries and tagged , , , , , .

Navigation